You are here:

Archaeological Center

Zooarchaeological Laboratory

Stable Isotope Facility

Natural History Museum of Utah

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The University of Utah Archaeological Center is a research and teaching arm of the Department of Anthropology. The Center’s mission is to train the next generation of anthropological archaeologists, facilitate collaborative archaeological research and promote the understanding of archaeology and prehistory in the wider community.

Originally founded in 1948 as the "Statewide Archaeological Survey," its mission was to investigate the prehistoric archaeology of Utah. It was renamed in 1978 and its mission broadened. The Archaeological Center now coordinates research that explores past and present human behavior from the perspective of evolutionary ecology.

The Archaeological Center is located in the Stewart Building on the lower campus of the University of Utah. It includes a central analysis laboratory, the Zooarchaeological Laboratory (directed by Jack Broughton) and a Stable Isotope Facility (directed by Joan Brenner-Coltrain). Researchers in the center also work in the ancient DNA Lab (directed by Dennis O'Rourke) and with the Natural History Museum of Utah (with Duncan Metcalfe and Lisbeth Louderback).

         

For more information on the Archaeological Field School in Range Creek Canyon visit: Archaeology Field School

For more information on the Zooarchaeology & Field Ecology Course at Eagle Lake visit: Zooarchaeology & Field Ecology 

Core Faculty

Director:  Brian F. Codding  (Ph.D. Stanford University, 2012; Assistant Professor). Human behavioral ecology, foraging economics, anthropogenic fire, gender division of labor, ethnoarchaeology, ethno-ecology, data analysis, GIS; Australia and North America. brian.codding@anthro.utah.edu

Jack M. Broughton (Ph.D. U Washington 1995; Professor). Zooarchaeology, evolutionary ecology, paleozoogeography; western North America. jack.broughton@anthro.utah.edu

Joan Brenner Coltrain (Ph.D. U Utah 1997; Research Associate Professor). Archaeological method and theory, stable isotope chemistry; Great Basin, eastern Arctic. joan.coltrain@anthro.utah.edu

Lisbeth A. Louderback (Ph.D. U Washington 2014; Assistant Professor) North American pre-history; Arid West; Quaternary paleoecology; Archaeobotany; Palynology, Starch grain analysis. lisbeth.louderback@anthro.utah.edu

Duncan Metcalfe  (Ph.D. U Utah 1987; Associate Professor). Archaeological method and theory, evolutionary ecology; western North America. duncan.metcalfe@anthro.utah.edu

James F. O'Connell (Ph.D. UC Berkeley, 1971; Distinguished Professor Emeritus). Hunter-gatherer ecology, archaeological method and theory; Australia, Africa, North America.  james.oconnell@anthro.utah.edu

Richard R. Paine (Ph.D. U Pennsylvania, 1992; Associate Professor). Archaeology, prehistoric demography, complex societies, human/land relationships; Mesoamerica, Europe. richard.paine@anthro.utah.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Adrian Bell (PhD UC Davis 2011; Asst Prof). Cultural evolution; evolutionary theory; statistical modeling; ethnography of Tonga and the Tongan diaspora communities around the world; migration. adrian.bell@anthro.utah.edu

Andrea Brunelle (PhD University of Oregon, 2002, Professor of Geography). Paleoecology, Climate Change, Disturbance Ecology, Desert Wetlands, Land Management. andrea.brunelle@geog.utah.edu

Russell Greaves (Ph.D. U New Mexico, 1997; Adjunct Associate Professor). Hunters and gatherers, small scale agricultural societies, technology; U.S. Southwest Archaeology, ethnology, museum studies. rustygreaves@yahoo.com

Kristen Hawkes (Ph.D. U Washington 1976; Professor). Behavioral ecology, sociobiology, hunter-gatherers.
kristen.hawkes@anthro.utah.edu

Mitchell J. Power (PhD University of Oregon, 2006, Associate Professor of Geography). Vegetation History, Botany, Biogeography, Fire History, Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology. Mitchell.power@geog.utah.edu 

Alan Rogers (PhD U New Mexico 1982; Prof). Population genetics, evolutionary ecology. alan.rogers@anthro.utah.edu

Last Updated: 11/28/16