You are here:

The University of Utah Archaeological Center

The University of Utah Archaeological Center (UUAC) is a research and teaching arm of the Department of Anthropology. The Center’s mission is to train the next generation of anthropological archaeologists, facilitate collaborative archaeological research and promote the understanding of archaeology and prehistory in the wider community.

Originally founded in 1948 as the "Statewide Archaeological Survey," its mission was to investigate the prehistoric archaeology of Utah. It was renamed in 1978 and its mission broadened. The Archaeological Center now coordinates research that explores past and present human behavior from the perspective of evolutionary ecology.

The Archaeological Center is located in the Stewart Building on the lower campus of the University of Utah. It includes a central analysis laboratory, the Zooarchaeological Laboratory (directed by Jack Broughton) and a Stable Isotope Facility (directed by Joan Brenner-Coltrain). UUAC researchers also work in the Red Lab (directed by Andrea Brunelle) and the Natural History Museum of Utah (with Tyler Faith, Lisbeth Louderback, and Duncan Metcalfe).

Director

Brian F. Codding (Ph.D. Stanford University, 2012; Associate Professor)
Interests: Behavioral ecology, ethnoecology, ethnoarchaeology, data analysis, spatial analysis; Australia & North America
brian.codding@anthro.utah.edu

Core Faculty

Jack M. Broughton (Ph.D. University of Washington 1995; Professor)
Interests: Zooarchaeology, evolutionary ecology, paleozoogeography; western North America
jack.broughton@anthro.utah.edu

Joan Brenner Coltrain (Ph.D. University of Utah 1997; Research Associate Professor)
Interests: Archaeological method and theory, stable isotope chemistry; Great Basin, eastern Arctic
joan.coltrain@anthro.utah.edu

Tyler Faith (Ph.D. George Washington University, 2011; Assist. Prof.). 
Quaternary paleoecology, vertebrate paleontology, zooarchaeology, paleoanthropology, modern human origins, extinctions, Africa
tyler.faith@anthro.utah.edu

Lisbeth A. Louderback (Ph.D. University of Washington 2014; Assistant Professor)
Interests: North American pre-history; Arid West; Quaternary paleoecology; Archaeobotany; Palynology, Starch grain analysis
lisbeth.louderback@anthro.utah.edu

Duncan Metcalfe  (Ph.D. University of Utah 1987; Associate Professor)
Interests: Archaeological method and theory, evolutionary ecology; western North America
duncan.metcalfe@anthro.utah.edu

James F. O'Connell (Ph.D. UC Berkeley, 1971; Distinguished Professor Emeritus)
Interests: Hunter-gatherer ecology, archaeological method and theory; Australia, Africa, North America
james.oconnell@anthro.utah.edu

Richard R. Paine (Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania, 1992; Associate Professor)
Interests: Archaeology, prehistoric demography, complex societies, human/land relationships; Mesoamerica, Europe
richard.paine@anthro.utah.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Adrian Bell (PhD UC Davis 2011; Assistant Professor)
Interests: Cultural evolution; evolutionary theory; statistical modeling; ethnography of Tonga and the Tongan diaspora communities around the world; migration
adrian.bell@anthro.utah.edu

Andrea Brunelle (PhD University of Oregon, 2002, Geography Professor)
Interests: Paleoecology, Climate Change, Disturbance Ecology, Desert Wetlands, Land Management
andrea.brunelle@geog.utah.edu

Daniel Contreras (PhD Stanford University, 2007; Adjunct Assistant Professor)
Interests: geoarchaeology, human-environment interactions, digital methods, socioecological modeling, social inequality, looting and cultural heritage
Daniel.Contreras@swca.com

Russell Greaves (Ph.D. University of New Mexico, 1997; Adjunct Associate Professor)
Interests: Hunters and gatherers, small scale agricultural societies, technology; U.S. Southwest Archaeology, ethnology, museum studies
rustygreaves@yahoo.com

Kristen Hawkes (Ph.D. University of Washington 1976; Distinguished Professor)
Interests: Behavioral ecology, sociobiology, hunter-gatherers
kristen.hawkes@anthro.utah.edu

Mitchell J. Power (PhD University of Oregon, 2006, Geography Associate Professor)
Interests: Vegetation History, Botany, Biogeography, Fire History, Paleoecology, Paleoclimatology
Mitchell.power@geog.utah.edu 

Alan Rogers (PhD University of New Mexico 1982; Professor)
Interests: Population genetics, evolutionary ecology
alan.rogers@anthro.utah.edu

Last Updated: 12/7/17